Select Page
There are twelve different personality “Profiles” in the Human Design system. Your profile looks like a “fraction” on your Human Design chart. Each number in the profile is derived from the lines of the Gates in your conscious and unconscious Sun sign on your chart
human design personality types
We derive an individual’s profile from the lines of the Gates in his or her conscious and unconscious Sun sign. The Sun sign is the first sign on a chart under the “Design” and “Personality” columns. The Sun is represented by the following astrological symbol:
human design chart
The lines are the little numbers just to the right of the big numbers. They look like exponents or a number being raised “to the power of” in mathematics:
genetic matrix

Profiles tell you about major life themes that you will encounter, and they illustrate another way in which your personality interacts with the world. Your Type can be thought of as your “character”. Your profiles is your “role”. Knowing your profile can help you know what you need in order to move toward fulfilling your purpose.

Your profile helps you understand your learning style, what you need to feel secure in your decision making, how you relate to yourself and others and how you share your gifts with the world.

There are two numbers in a profile. Each number represents specific archetypical themes that influence your experience of the world. The numbers in your profile inform you about what’s necessary in order to feel confident and strong in creating a life you love and in making good decisions.

These two numbers operate in conjunction with each other. The needs of both of the archetypes in your profile have to be met in order for you to feel at peace with your life and your choices.

Human Design shows us that growth often involves mastering challenges and finding ways to harmonize between the different parts of yourself. Many of the archetypes within the two lines of a profile present a conundrum – two different energy themes that seem to be at odds with each other. It is in finding ways to work with both of these themes in your life that you can deepen your self-mastery, resilience and self-acceptance.

When you live the highest expression of the two lines in your profile, then you will see that both of these archetypes in your profile can complement each other and support you in fulfilling your life purpose.

Definitions of the Lines

Here are basic definitions for each of the six Profile Lines:

Line 1 – The Investigator needs information and feels safe when they have data. (The internet was created for the First Line profiles.)

Line 2 – The Hermit needs alone time to integrate. Second lines need space to feel good and grounded. Others will always find the Hermit when they hide and call them back out into life.

Line 3 – The Experiential Learner needs to experiment with their ideas and to be allowed to “make mistakes” without judgment. There is no getting it “wrong” for the Third line, only figuring out what works based on their understanding of what doesn’t work.

Line 4 – The Opportunist builds a foundation of friendships and needs to network as well as share. Fourth Lines need people to accept them for who they are; they need to know what’s next and be prepared to feel safe. (Fourth line Profiles don’t do “limbo” well.)

Line 5 – The Teacher is here to teach whatever they’ve experienced in life. They are Karmic Mirrors and are often subject to the projections of others because other people see through their relationships with the Fifth Line profiles what they need to heal the most. Fifth lines need to trust that you will see the truth about them to feel safe and can sometimes hide their truth very deeply when you first get to know them.

Line 6 – The Role Model is the embodiment of what they are here to share with the world. Sixth Lines need to walk their talk. The Sixth line goes through three distinct life phases. The first phase (birth until 30) is a youthful phase of experimentation and experiential learning. The Second phase (30-50) is a long cycle of integration and studying. The final phase (50+) is a cycle of living what they’ve learned. Sixth lines need to feel that what they are participating in is worth their effort to find meaning and energy in life.

Leave a comment over on our Free Human Design Circle Community

Additional Resources for Human Design Types

Human Design Membership community with courses, coaching and open Q & A

Human Design Conference (In September every year - attend live or virtually)

Human Design Press - all the books!