Select Page
the Centers in the Human Design Chart

The first thing you will notice when you look at your chart is that there are nine geometric shapes. These shapes are called the nine Centers. Each Center carries and manages a certain frequency of energy and relates to specific themes in our lives.

As you can see from the image, the Centers are: Head, Ajna, Throat, G-Center (Identity/Self) Will, Spleen, Sacral, Emotional Solar Plexus, Sacral, and Root. If a Center is colored, then it is called Defined. A Defined Center has a consistent way of operating and is part of who you are. This is the energy that you radiate out into the world. It operates the same way energetically and thematically.

Your defined Centers represent aspects of your personality that are consistent and true about you all the time. It can be raining, Mercury can be in retrograde, Mars can disappear out of the solar system, but your definition always stays the same.

If a Center is white, then it is called Undefined or “open”. Open Centers are where we take in energy and information from the world around us. Not only do we absorb energies in our open Centers, we also amplify them. In our open Centers, we experience other people’s energies. It is in these open Centers that we have the potential for great wisdom, but also the potential for pain and confusion.

Undefined areas represent aspects of your personality that are inconsistent. Where you are undefined is where you take energy and information from other people. Not only do you absorb it, you amplify it.

For example, if you have an undefined emotional solar plexus (the triangle on the lower right-hand side of the body graph), you absorb other people’s emotions, and you feel them stronger than the person actually generating the feelings. Emotionally undefined individuals are empathic. With awareness, this empathy can be a great source of wisdom. Any center where you are undefined is potentially a great source of wisdom.

To illustrate my point, let me give you an example. I have an undefined emotional solar plexus. I hate going to movies because I bawl my eyes out every time. When I watched the movie, “Spirit, Stallion of the Cimarron” (an animated movie about a horse), I cried so hard during the whole movie that my nine-year-old daughter got up and moved to another seat because she was so embarrassed by my behavior. Honestly, it wasn’t THAT sad a movie. What I now understand is that my open emotional system was taking in all the emotional energy in the theater and amplifying it. I was crying the tears for the people in the whole theater.

While not helpful at a movie, it is critical in my life. In my coaching practice, this aspect of being emotionally undefined is a great asset for me. When I am assessing my client’s emotional status, I KNOW what they are feeling because I am feeling it, too!

In another example, when I worked as a nurse, this was very exhausting for me because I didn’t understand my Human Design. I burned out very quickly because the emotional intensity was overwhelming and I would soak it up like a sponge. Now I use my emotional solar plexus as a screen, allowing all of that emotional information to pass through me. I don’t hold on to it (meaning claiming it as my own), and I don’t burn out.

Children who are emotionally undefined sometimes get labeled as being “dramatic”. What they are doing is taking in all the emotional energy from the people around them and acting it out. I often see emotionally undefined children labeled as “disturbed” when they are, in fact, acting out the emotional health of their family or even emotional drama in their parent’s marriage.

The beauty in the defined and undefined Centers and lies in the fact that individually we are all simply puzzle pieces — parts of a greater whole. We all become completely defined when we are all together. We each bring pieces that energetically unify us all and offer us the opportunity to express all the human experience.

You sense this when you go to a restaurant or a coffee shop. The designs of the customers and the staff blend together to make a collective aura.

Your definition comes from the position of the Gates and the planets at the moment of your birth. Wherever you have open energy in your chart, you take it in from the collective aura of the others in the coffee shop. Your energy and your definition (colored in parts of your chart) interact with other people’s energy and definition. You are imprinted with other people’s energies wherever you have openness in your chart.

There are nine Centers in the Human Design chart. Each Center is responsible for processing specific kinds of energies.

Centers are “defined” when they are “colored.” That means that these are energies that you carry and experience consistently and are a part of what you transmit out into the world.

What centers do you have defined?

“Open” Centers are white on your Human Design chart. Wherever you have openness in your chart is where you take energy in from others. You don’t just take it in, you amplify it, thus making your experience of these energies intense and powerful.

Because you experience openness from outside of yourself, your experience of these energies is inconsistent, variable, and you may often mistakenly think these energies belong to you instead of to others. The more openness you have in your chart, the more sensitive you are and the more potential you must become wise about the potential of the human experience.

Open Centers create predictable behavioral themes. These themes sometimes cause us to engage in self-defeating patterns and habits that hold you back from accessing the wisdom that your openness brings you. These themes also cause us to act out in the world in ways that are not in alignment with your True Self.

Leave a comment over on our Free Human Design Circle Community

Additional Resources for Human Design Types

Human Design Membership community with courses, coaching and open Q & A

Human Design Conference (In September every year - attend live or virtually)

Human Design Press - all the books!